To read recent stories regarding the 2016 Senate races, click here.

Updated Nov. 7, 2016

2016 Senate ratings map

2016 Senate candidates

*Indicates a special election.

State Incumbent Possible Primary Challengers Major Party Opposition Third party Party Rating
AK Lisa Murkowski
– Ex-state Rep. Ray Metcalfe – Atty Margaret Stock (Ind)
– 2010 GOP SEN nominee Joe Miller (Lib)
– 2014 SEN candidate Ted Gianoutsos (Ind)
Safe R
AL Richard Shelby
– Marijuana activist Ron Crumpton Safe R
AR John Boozman
– Former US Atty Conner Eldridge – 2014 GOV nominee Frank Gilbert (Lib) Safe R
AZ John McCain
– Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick Likely R
CA Barbara Boxer
– AG Kamala Harris
– Rep. Loretta Sanchez
Safe D
CO Michael Bennet
– El Paso County Commissioner Darryl Glenn – Businesswoman Lily Williams (Lib)
– Activist Arn Menconi (G)
– Bill Hammons (Unity)
Safe D
CT Richard Blumenthal
– State Rep. Dan Carter Safe D
FL Marco Rubio
– Rep. Patrick Murphy Leans R
GA Johnny Isakson
– Businessman Jim Barksdale – Atty Allen Buckley (Lib) Safe R
HI Brian Schatz
– 2012 SEN candidate John Carroll – 2014 SEN nominee Michael Kokoski (Lib)
– 2014 SEN candidate Joy Allison (Const)
– 2012 HI-1 candidate John Giuffre (ASP)
Safe D
IA Chuck Grassley
– Ex-Lt. Gov. Patty Judge – Chuck Aldrich (Lib)
– 2014 GOV nominee Jim Hennager (NIPIA)
– Writer Michael Luick-Thrams (Ind)
Safe R
ID Mike Crapo
– Businessman Jerry Sturgill – Ray Writz (Const) Safe R
IL Mark Kirk
– Rep. Tammy Duckworth – Kenton McMillen (Lib)
– Scott Summers (G)
Likely D
IN Dan Coats
– Rep. Todd Young – Ex-Sen. Evan Bayh – Lucy Brenton (Lib) Leans R
KS Jerry Moran
– 2014 SEN candidate Patrick Wiesner – Robert Garrard (Lib) Safe R
KY Rand Paul
– Lexington Mayor Jim Gray Safe R
LA David Vitter
– Rep. Charles Boustany
– Rep. John Fleming
– State Treasurer John Kennedy
– 2014 candidate Rob Maness
– Ex-Rep. Joseph Cao
– Businessman Abhay Patel
– 2010 LG nominee Caroline Fayard
– Public Service Commissioner Foster Campbell
– Businessman Josh Pellerin
Likely R
MD Barbara Mikulski
– Rep. Chris Van Hollen – State Del. Kathy Szeliga – Health care advocate Margaret Flowers (G) Safe D
MO Roy Blunt
– Secretary of State Jason Kander – 2012 SEN nominee Jonathan Dine (Lib)
– Fred Ryman (Const)
Leans R
NC Richard Burr
– Ex-state Rep. Deborah Ross – 2014 SEN nominee Sean Haugh (Lib) Leans R
ND John Hoeven
– State Rep. Eliot Glassheim – Robert Marquette (Lib) Safe R
NH Kelly Ayotte
– Ex-state Sen. Jim Rubens – Gov. Maggie Hassan – Brian Chabot (Lib)
– Aaron Day (Ind)
Leans D
NV Harry Reid
– Ex-AG Catherine Cortez Masto – Rep. Joe Heck – Tom Jones (IP) Leans D
NY Chuck Schumer
– 2012 SEN nominee Wendy Long – Robin Laverne Wilson (G) Safe D
OH Rob Portman
– Ex-Gov. Ted Strickland – 2012 candidate Scott Rupert (Ind)
– Joseph DeMare (G)
– Tom Connors (Ind)
Safe R
OK James Lankford
– Political consultant Mike Workman – Robert Murphy (Lib) Safe R
OR Ron Wyden
– 2014 SEN candidate Mark Callahan – Steven Reynolds (Ind) Safe D
PA Pat Toomey
– 2014 GOV candidate Katie McGinty – Edward Clifford (Lib) Leans D
SC Tim Scott
– Minister Thomas Dixon – Bill Bledsoe (Lib/Const)
– Michael Scarborough (Am)
Safe R
SD John Thune
– Yankton Co. Democratic Party chair Jay Williams Safe R
UT Mike Lee
– Cashier Misty Snow – 2014 UT-2 candidate Bill Barron (Ind)
– Stoney Fonua (Ind Am)
Safe R
VT Patrick Leahy
– 2014 GOV nominee Scott Milne – Pete Diamondstone (Lib Union)
– Cris Ericson (US Mar)
– Jerry Trudell (Ind)
Safe D
WA Patty Murray
– Ex-state party Chairman Chris Vance Safe D
WI Ron Johnson
– Ex-Sen. Russ Feingold – Phil Anderson (Lib) Leans D

To see the 2014 Senate race ratings information, click here.